requiems: (amélie ☙ one shot one kill)
[personal profile] requiems
100% completion! I have scoured the map for collectibles and had a lovely week inside of ruins and have been jumpscared a few times (but not too badly) and got frustrated during combat sequences a few times (if they discover a body the npc's AI just fucking BEELINES for you even if you're hidden) and had a fair few ???? moments during climbing exploration because it wasn't immediately obvious... sometimes jumps do not look jumpable at first glance, the grappling mechanic fails for no discernible reason except Lara is angled oddly, or she won't navigate complex terrain all that well...

The DLC unfortunately returns to the format that I remember Rise using for its tombs, in that they're all designed around timed puzzles so you can run them quickly to get a higher score and then trophies. I sincerely do not care for timed puzzles that require me to double back half a dozen times because I missed activating something by a fraction of a second. I want to explore it's about the aesthetic and vibes. I want to take my time solving a puzzle myself, but not in a repetitive way. I was perhaps two thirds of the way through the first DLC tomb and so frustrated and having so little fun that I had reached the point of "I don't care I just want it to be over" and used a walkthrough to get out. I am hesitant to do any more of them frankly, but trophies.

I was thinking about maybe doing a Deadly Obsession run in NG+, which is the hardest difficulty of the game with no checkpoints and reduced campfires, which can be done reasonably quickly in NG+ if you get all the gear you need and max out your resources before you start the file. The final boss arena changed my mind on this entirely because I can foresee losing hours of my life to running this sequence.

why I will not be doing that )

Uhhh what else. I liked Lara's feral moment: good is not soft. She has a terrible day after Square dutifully kills their one other female character that fights, and your doe eyed protagonist should have moments of striking fear into those who have chosen to test her. I liked the ending: Lara got to see her parents one last time, I liked the Crimson Fire twist, there was some really good music playing during the tomb at the Mission of San Juan, I got to explore a Spanish galleon, temples galore. I liked an npc commenting on the thrill of discovery he could hear in Lara's voice, of seeing things unseen for thousands of years, and hoping she'd never lose that wonder. I did not like Lara's death cutscenes, which I never ever have, but if you're fast enough you can checkpoint reload before you have to see it and spare yourself watching spike impalement. Honestly the most heinous of these was during an escape sequence in Paititi, if the guard catches you they joyously hack you to pieces in the street whilst Lara screams, and that is way, way too 2013 Tomb Raider for me, which is why I never played it. It's just torture porn. It bothers me that there are cutscenes people had to make for every single location which is just Lara screaming and dying in brutal ways, it's not necessary. Men of the genre don't have this happen to them, your defining woman does not need it either. It also bumps the rating: there's a lot of stabbing going on in the closing hours but you don't see any of it on screen and there's no blood either?? The most gruesome thing was in the opening couple hours with a recently mauled, blood soaked half body asset being thrown at you from a jaguar's maw but most of the time unless it's Lara out of combat deaths, nothing.

Anyway, I give it a solid "it was fine", music was consistently great, it looked beautiful, narrative was not ground breaking but it wasn't a bad story to tell by any stretch. Once I decide what to do re: DLC tombs, it's probably time for Endwalker, where I'll be wishing for Mayan and Incan ruins, and what Dawntrail could have been...
toothpastepancake: (anisha)
[personal profile] toothpastepancake
Sigh. I cannot catch a break!

I'm really feeling the loneliness lately, y'all. I don't know. I left exchanges and decided to stop doing them because I just don't fit in or mesh there, I guess. And I used to be so excited about exchanges, but I can't seem to make it work. I find that in general, my autism and intellectual functioning issues get in the way of me living a fulfilling life in almost every way. I love being around people and doing things for others to make them happy... that is all I have ever wanted to do. I don't know how to tell people "please be patient with me I'm intellectually disabled" without sounding like... oh poor me pity me or making people see me as lesser. But the truth is I just do not function the same way as other people in these spaces do - even other neurodivergent people - because of that disability and it is turning out to be an insurmountable barrier.

I don't like to talk about being intellectually disabled. It's not something I try to think about and having such a low IQ is notsomething I really was aware of until rediscovering old paperwork a bit ago. I have a lot of internalized ableism around it and I don't really have anyone to talk to about it because I bring it up in therapy and am told to not put myself down even though it's... just a fact? So it's just sort of a specter that hangs over me at all times, constantly mocking me in ways only I can see and hear. It's like plastic wrap around my head, suffocating me slowly and keeping me isolated from the rest of the world because all I can do is focus on the simple mechanics of maintaining breath. I don't know where I'm going with this metaphor. The point: it sucks, and it hurts, and I feel like an alien plucked out of its home universe and forced into a different, cruel world! I feel like the thing that doesn't get bought at the yard sale so you leave it out on the curb for free and then it doesn't even get picked up by trash collection. I feel like a seedless peach pit, just hard and useless. You know? I would never judge anyone else for this but I have a lot of internalized ableism I'm going to have to work through all by myself and it's hard.

Anyway, I'm never going to stop searching for that one place I fit in but man. It's going to be a long journey I think. 

I'm just sort of hanging in there. The month is almost over and I haven't even reached my writing goal for it. I'm going to try and get some writing done soon. I did write one fill for Rare Kink Buffet and I wrote 300 or so words on my original novella and I am now 3/10 on 10trueloves! So that's pretty fun. I'm trying to focus on getting through my many hoarded prompt lists/cards/tables/challenges. In 2025 I wrote for others and in 2026 I think I write for me.

I hope you are all well.


Shadow of the tomb raider

20 Mar 2026 03:58
requiems: (fe8 ☙ magvel)
[personal profile] requiems
The day after my last journal entry, so the 8th, I was thinking about starting Shadow of the Tomb Raider. I decided this wouldn't be a very good idea as groceries were in two days and getting deep into something new then would be poor timing if I had to go back to the usual fare. Sensible enough. Ten days later, on the 17th, a whole week after groceries, I was finally well enough to give it a go. smh.

It's... simplistic narratively is probably the word I'm looking for. You're thrown in assuming you remember Rise (which I didn't), but no big deal if you don't. You are Lara Croft. You are chasing bad guys and looking for knowledge probably in tombs. That's all you need to know. It's not doing anything groundbreaking story wise but it's very much a product of coming out after Uncharted 4 and boy can you tell. A lot of Rise's criticisms was it being too survival and combat focused (already dressed down from the first of the survivor trilogy, which I never played) so Shadow focuses much more on exploration. This delivered, as in the first six hours I had had a grand total of one combat encounter with human enemies in the prologue and two encounters with jaguars. That ratio was wild, but the pacing is pretty decent between, explore an area with a puzzle, now you can explore this town, now you can fight these enemies between you and the next objective, here is a breathtaking panning shot of an ancient ruin (thank you), here are tombs and crypts to go off and look at now if you want, and so on. It also acknowledges what all women want, which are knives and axes. Truly I've seen Lara excited three times in this game and one of them was for a ceremonial knife and the second was for her climbing axes.

It does keep giving me headaches if I play too long in one sitting. I think there are simply too many jungle polygons. I love when there's gendered pronouns of all male enemies looking for her who is systematically taking them down from stealth I love getting to be a woman in a male dominated action game space thank you. I might have to look into temporarily remapping some buttons (not through the game, through console) as your effective eagle vision, survival instincts, is triggered by R3 and boy I wish I could toggle it I'm being forced to press R3 all the time and after three days my thumb is making its objections known. R1 might be the best option for it, it's used for zoom and crafting special ammo only, we'll see...

Also it's funny to me that I am totally chill with the following things: jaguars, jumpscares from ancient civilisations that appear out of the jungle to massacre the evil organisation and are absolutely going to turn on me at some point (par for the course in this kind of game it's going to get Fucking Weird), more jaguars, but I drew the line at piranhas. Genuine skin crawling fear. I absolutely hated the section I had to swim past a bunch. I just know they're going to do more later. :|a also Lara almost gets crushed in tight caverns way too many times in the opening hour and wow I did not like that either. Space, please!!!

It's going, though. I've done most of the combat trophies by checkpoint restarting (recommended), I have one or two left. We'll see how much I get through over the weekend.

New comm!

19 Mar 2026 00:10
toothpastepancake: (caleb and nahla)
[personal profile] toothpastepancake
A fellow Nahleb shipper has made a comm for Nahla fans, controversial SFA ships, and Nahleb/Nahla/Caleb stuff! If you're into that, come hang out at [community profile] nahlas_office !
larissa: (BSSM ☄ ⌈Usagi ; moonlight rendezvous⌋)
[personal profile] larissa

checking in, even though i haven't been very productive again...

  • websites: still nada. was hoping to get stuff done yesterday but then i got distracted by other things, woe. maybe sometime this week? i have less going on.
  • writing: has been middling. i mean i'm still writing my daily nonsense about my ocs, but not much in the way of new project stuff like i managed at the start of the month.
  • gaming: i think i'm 18-20 hours into trails from zero? i'm near the end of the second chapter. since i picked up a new raid commitment in ff14 i've had less time during the week to play, so i've been aiming for weekends. hopefully i can make more progress in the coming week.
    • i did also get pokémon leafgreen for switch out of nostalgia. i keep forgetting when the rival battles are and have been woefully underprepared each time. this is just going to be a now-and-then game; it's nice to pick up when i have no brain for anything else.

that's all the updates for now... i really hate this time of year, i feel so blah.

verushka70: Kowalski puts his hands to his head (Default)
[personal profile] verushka70
I'm in the middle of a slow burn, angst with a happy ending, explicit Scott/Kip fic. I'm 13K+ words in and about halfway through. It's basically S1E03 (and their parts in S1E05 and S1E06) but entirely from Scott's fucked up perspective.

why fic the series canon from Scott's POV? well, because he's my tragic, angsty hero, that's why, among other major reasons, here, including that you don't get Scott's depths in the Game Changer novel )
There just wasn't the depth or exploration of character and backstory in the novel, that seeing the series and the excellent acting had led me to expect and hope for.

So I decided to write it myself.

I tried the Scott/Kip Discord, briefly, to ask if anyone was interested in beta-ing. But I don't know anyone on it and I don't think anyone saw my request in the midst of the ongoing conversations flying by between people who clearly all knew each other.

So I thought I'd ask here.

If anyone would be interested in beta-ing, I can be reached at verushka70(at)Gmail(dot)com.

*Yes I know Demian doesn't explicitly posit a homoerotic relationship and that Herman Hesse was not gay and the different characters were largely projections of the main characters and psychoanalysis and Freud informed it all - I know. But his male characters and their relationships read as gay/slashy to me. And if Reddit and Tumblr are anything to go by, I am hardly the only one who thought that.
verushka70: Modified publicity still puts Fraser and RayK closer together in a slashy moment. (DS slash)
[personal profile] verushka70

Back when Blind Spot premiered (sheesh, 10 years ago?? iz old), I had seen all the previews and thought it looked like a potentially cool show. Then I watched the first episode. I turned it off and switched to something else after the first 20-30 minutes. I simply could not suspend disbelief for the premise of the show.

It was like a bad rip-off of La Femme Nikita (the first one) but with amnesia and cardboard characters. The shaky camera work, pseudo 'cinema verite', was annoying as fuck, and the high overhead drone shots were already overdone back then. I have no beef with the actors; they're all decent and doing their best with what they've been given, which isn't much. Marianne Jean-Baptiste's role is especially thankless.

Why am I writing this? This is Francois Arnaud's fault, really: reasons not to watch this show even if you have Netflix and love Francois Arnaud )

I sincerely hope the other actors went on to bigger and better things, but I'm not sure this on their resume helped them do that. The only good things I can say about Blind Spot are the EDM that often shows up in the soundtrack is pretty good sometimes, and some of the actors have good chemistry. Neither of those is enough to redeem the show. The budget for it was clearly insane, which is sad - because so many better series could've used budgets like this, and used them way better than this dreck.

In short, do not watch Blind Spot. I mean, unless it's a drinking game or a "how bad could it be" dare.

Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags